22
Jan
10

politics

As I mentioned in the last post, another one of the things I would like to do in my life is get in involved in politics somehow. From an early age I took an interest in politics and the news in general. Something about how we choose to run our world fascinates me. I believe that in the time we have, we are supposed to create or at least influence the society in which we live. I would one like to maybe work on a campaign for someone who I truly believe in. Now don’t get me wrong, I will be the first one to admit that our current political system has problems. I would name some of them now, but I think I would need a whole new post to cover all of them. However, I still believe that even with it’s flaws, we can still use our current system to better and make improvements to our society.  One of the people whom I really look up to is Barack Obama. I remember in 2004 when I was 13 watching the Democratic National Convention where he was the keynote speaker. I remember how great of a speech he gave and I thought he had a funny name, little did I know that 4 years later that guy would go on to be president. Now, I don’t agree with everything he does but I can relate to him on a personal level. I read his book “The Audacity of Hope” and it was one of the most honest and heartfelt memoirs I have ever read. Its hard to believe it was written by a politician! And even though he is facing some tough criticism lately I still have hope in him. He also displays many qualities that I admire; intelligence, good oratorical skills, wisdom, honesty, calm yet assertive, and he seems to be a very moral person as well. He also wasn’t born into the best of situations, and struggled but overcame things when he was younger to be who he is today. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll even get the chance to run for some sort of office, although I need to work on myself a lot before that’s even becomes a reality.

0 Responses to “politics”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

